Interview with Designer and Author Mark Montano

 You can follow Mark’s Blog (here)
 
Mark Montano is perhaps best known for three series on the Style Network and The Learning Channel: 10 Years Younger, which he hosted, While You Were Out, on which he frequently appears as a designer, and My Celebrity Home on which he is both host and designer. Montano can currently be seen on WE TV’s new show, “She’s Moving In”. Montano has a flamboyant design sense that homeowners on While You Were
Out are sometimes less than enthused about at first, but he usually
wins them over with his boisterous personality. On My Celebrity Home, Mark tours a celebrity’s home and gives their style to a fan. Mark’s latest filming was for MY HOME 2.0 that aired in April 2010 on FOX.

 

 
 
Some of Mark’s Craft books are:
  • “The Big Ass Book of Crafts 2” (2011)
  • Pulp Fiction: Perfect Paper Projects (2011)
  • The Big-Ass Book of Home Decor (2010)
  • The Big-Ass Book of Crafts (2008)
  • Super Suite: The Ultimate Bedroom Makeover Guide for Girls (2002)
  • Window Treatments and Slipcovers for Dummies (2005)
  • Dollar Store Decor: 100 Projects for Lush Living That Won’t Break the Bank (2005)
 
 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
ME:
How did you get started in the craft field?
Mark
Montano: I was a fashion designer for many years and decided that working with
fabric was just too limiting.  My friend Atoosa Rubenstein (who started Cosmo
Girl! magazine) hired me as an editor to do an article called Cool Room and
from there I was able to make tons of different craft projects to show girls
how to decorate their rooms.  I’d always sewn and glued things together
but now I was getting paid for it.
ME:
Was it hard to get your crafts in the public’s eye?
Mark
Montano: Writing and publishing certainly helped a lot.  Being an editor
at a Hearst publication didn’t hurt so in a lot of ways I was very lucky.
ME:
When did you decide to become an Author and make your craft books?
Mark
Montano: I turned my first 2 years worth of articles into my first book and
named it Super Suite: The Ultimate Bedroom Makeover Guide for Girls.  From
that point on I was hooked on publishing and have tried to write a book every
year.
ME:
Which of your past crafts has been your favorite one to make?
Mark
Montano: I don’t have favorites because the others would get jealous.
But, I try to make a paint chip art piece in every book I write.
It’s just “my thing”.
ME:
Where do you get most of your crafting ideas from?
Mark
Montano: I lock myself up and experiment using readily available materials and
come up with them myself.  I know lots of things have been done, but not
the way I do them.
ME:
What type of craft do you enjoy the most?
Mark
Montano: Projects with a little bit of sewing in them.
ME:
What type of craft do you enjoy the least?
 Mark
Montano: Anything to do with crochet or knitting. I love the craft but I’m not
good at it.
ME:
If you had only 10 minutes to pack and leave your house forever what would you
take?
Mark
Montano: My pillow case full of cash.
ME:
Out of all the people you’ve helped design for who was your favorite client and
why?
 Mark
Montano: Carly Simon because she once gave me a 1 hour private concert while
she was rehearsing and dedicated it to me and Mike Nichols (the director) while
I waited to give her a fitting.
ME:
What is the first thing you do when you wake up in the morning?
Mark
Montano: Drink a cup of coffee, with my FB friends good morning and then head
out for a run.
ME:
Do you have other hobbies?
Mark
Montano: I love to read and dare I say it, I love to watch TV. There I said it.
ME:
Who would you like to spend a day with? (alive or dead)  
Mark
Montano: Coco Chanel would be wonderful to hang out with.
ME:
Is your house a crazy array of design and organized chaos or are you a neat and
tidy person?
Mark
Montano: Neat and tidy with tons of boxes of stuff hidden everywhere.
ME:
How do you like living in LA?
Mark
Montano: I’m still on the fence about it.
ME:
What advice do you have to others that want to get started in the craft and/or
design field?
Mark
Montano: Do what you love, ignore the people who try to “critique”
you and keep your eye on the prize.  Whatever that prize is for you.
Leave a Reply

