Interview with Author Cherie Reich

You can learn more out about Cherie at her blog (here)

Cherie Reich is a writer, freelance proofreader, and library
assistant. Her short stories can be seen in the magazines EMERALD TALES
“Winter Solstice” issue (December 2009), EMERALD TALES “It was a bright
and sunny day” issue (April 2010), HAZARD CAT (March 2010), VIRGINIA
ENGLISH BULLETIN (August 2010) and the anthologies ALL ABOUT EVE
published by WolfSinger Publications (April 2010), MERTALES published by
Wyvern Publications (October 2010), BLOODY CARNIVAL published by Pill
Hill Press (September 2010), DAILY BITES OF FLESH 2011 published by Pill
Hill Press (December 2010), and OIL AND WATER anthology published by
LL-Publications (December 2010). She has a short story forthcoming from
the magazine ABANDONED TOWERS. Her ebook ONCE UPON A DECEMBER NIGHTMARE
was published by Wild Child Publishing in August 2010. She is currently
in rewrites for her novels THE PHOENIX PROPHETESS, VIRTUOSO, and MISSING.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~1. What made you decide to start writing?

I had been role-playing for a
while and writing some fan fiction. I tried my hand at a couple of short
stories, but I didn’t think much about it. When I got my current job, I
had a lot of time on my hands and decided to start writing a novel I’d
been planning in my head for several years. Everything just seemed to
click.

2. How did you come up with the ideas for your
characters?

A few of my characters were inspired from the role-playing
games I participated in. Others just appeared. I’m not sure how they
found me, but I’m glad they did.

3. Do you relate to any of
your characters?

Yes. I believe there is a piece of me in all my
characters. The one I relate to the most is Rose from my novel STARRED.

4. Do you put any personal experiences in your writing?

Sometimes. I
try to use real emotions I’ve had and create the sensations for my
characters. STARRED (mentioned in question 3) has many of my real life
experiences fictionalized within.

5. Do you read a lot?

Oh,
yes! I average around 50+ books a year, but I’m also reading my own
work, friends’ works, blog posts, etc.

6. What are your
favorite types of books to read and favorite authors?

I’ll try reading
just about anything, but I am very fond of genre fiction: mysteries,
horror, fantasy and sci-fi, romance. Some of my favorite authors include
Stephen King, Michael Crichton, Aubrie Dionne, Kathy Reichs, Beth
Revis.

7. Would you read new authors’ books?

Of course. I’m always looking for new authors to read.

8. You’re a vegetarian, what is your favorite vegetarian dish to fix?

Well, I’m not much a chef (more the frozen pizza-type gal), but I do
enjoy cooking this pasta dish with peas. Here’s the recipe: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/moms-peas-and-noodles/detail.aspx

9. Do you have any pets?

Yes. I have two cats (Romeo and Cinderella), a guinea pig (Abby), and a goldfish (Dash).

10. Do you enjoy living in Virginia?

Yes, I do. It’s a lovely state,
has a lot of history to it, and the people are generally friendly. Most
of my family lives here too.

11. If you could go anywhere in the world where would you go?

Europe (because I can’t pick just one country there).

12. Do you have any hobbies?

I like to collect books and keychains. I
watch TV. The rest of my hobbies have become jobs, though.

13. What is your favorite place to write?

I write the most at the day job, but I also enjoy writing at home on my corner desk.

14. If you could spend the day with someone who would it be? (Dead or
Alive)

Tough decision, but I would have to go with Socrates. It’s the
philosopher in me.

15. What advice would you give to other
people who want to become authors?

Be prepared for hard work. Read a
lot within and out of your genre. Writing leads to more writing. Be open
to change because nothing in your manuscript is set in stone until it’s
published (and sometimes not even then). Be realistic. If you come to
writing thinking you’ll make millions and be a bestseller, you’d have
more luck playing the lottery. Writing is about passion. Readers will
know if you’re faking it.

Leave a Reply

