Interview with Author Ruth Cardello

You can follow Ruth more on her blog (here)
Ruth lives on a small farm in Northern Rhode Island with her husband,
three children, three dogs, two horses, one barn cat and an assortment
of chickens.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~1. What made you decide to start writing?

I’ve always loved
writing stories, but I wrote my first book about seven years ago.
Finishing my first novel was a huge achievement, and one that I saw as
an ending – but it was really the beginning of an incredible journey.

2. Where do you get the ideas for your book characters?

I love dialogue. I usually start with a snippet of dialogue that comes
to me almost out of the blue and I begin to imagine the kind of person
who would have said it. I write the kinds of heroes I love to read –
passionate, powerful, alpha men who find real happiness when love comes
into their lives.

3. Do you use any real life experience in your books?

Absolutely. Obviously, the billionaire part came completely out of my
imagination, but I modeled some of the Andrade interactions after my
own family. I’m the youngest of 11 children and our house was always
full of love, children, and hilarious stories. I’m also pretty partial
to the deer forest I mentioned in Maid for the Billionaire.

4. Where do you go to write?

I usually write on a laptop wherever I can find a quiet place.

5. What is your favorite part about living in Rhode Island?

I’d have to say that having my large family almost entirely living in
one state is my favorite part of Rhode Island. However, I also love
having a small farm while still being so close to major cities. It’s the
best of both worlds.

6. What is your favorite scene from your books?

I really enjoyed writing the scene where Nicole realized that one thing
that she held against her brother was that he had not been the hero
he’d pretended to be as a child – that, in the end, he was actually
just a man and really the only family she had left. When you spend
enough time with characters, they become real to you. That scene
touched me, because I think that is where Nicole began to truly forgive
Dominic. Even though the brother/sister relationship was secondary
story in each romance, I think it was as important to the happiness of
each character as finding love was.

7. With all those animals is your house a crazy zoo or an organized museum?

My house is definitely a very crazy, very happy zoo. I enjoy animals
and think that children learn a lot by being with them. For example, we
have two horses – one that is elderly and blind. The kids adore him.
We had purchased a third horse (a beautiful and much younger one) a few
years ago and then discovered that we were only allowed to keep two. I
thought I would have to talk my children into making the right choice,
but they didn’t even consider getting rid of the older horse. They
chose loyalty and love over the thrill of a much better ride. I’ve
never been prouder of them than I was the day we had that talk. I
thought – I must be doing something right. Whew.

8. What is your favorite way to reward yourself after finishing a book?
I usually take a week or two off and pamper myself with lots of day trips with my kids and husband.

9. Do you read a lot?

I was an avid reader until I published Maid for the Billionaire and it
did well. Now my reading time is taken up by writing. When I leave my
day job at the end of this year, I will have time to read again and I
can’t wait. My kindle is full of so many books I can’t wait to dive
into. I’ll squeeze a book in now or then, but not nearly as many as I’d
like to.

10. Who is your favorite Author?
I don’t have one
particular author that I prefer more than others, but I enjoy reading
Harlequin Presents and Silhouette Desire more than most other types. I
love the emotion and escapism elements.

11. Would you read books from new authors?
Absolutely!

12. Do you have any hobbies?
I ride horses. They take away my stress and humble me with their trusting nature.

13. If you could go anywhere in the world where would you go?
I’ve always wanted to visit Italy.

14. If you could spend the day with anyone who would it be? (Dead or Alive)

I lost a sister to cancer over 20 years ago. I would love to sit down
with her and tell her all about my husband and kids – and maybe catch up
on what the other side is all about.

15. What advice would you give to other people who want to become authors?

I would tell them that the first book that people write is rarely a
good book – and that it’s ok. Love that book. Embrace the process.
Don’t get discouraged. No, It won’t be perfect, but if you don’t write
it, you will never write the incredible books that will follow.
Keep
writing and stay informed of how the market is changing. The
opportunities are there for people who are willing to learn, grow, and
put time into promoting their work.

Leave a Reply

