Interview with Author and Wiccan High Priestess Deborah Blake

You can follow Deborah’s blog (here)

Deborah Blake is the award-winning author of Circle, Coven
and Grove: A Year of Magickal Practice
(Llewellyn 2007), Everyday
Witch A to Z: An Amusing, Inspiring & Informative Guide to the Wonderful
World of Witchcraft
(Llewellyn 2008), The Goddess is in the
Details: Wisdom for the Everyday Witch
(Llewellyn2009), Everyday
Witch A to Z Spellbook
(July 2010) and Witchcraft on a Shoestring
(September 2010). Her new book, Everyday Witch Book of Rituals
will be released in October 2012. She has published numerous articles in
Llewellyn annuals, as well as other Pagan publications, and her ongoing
column, “Magick on a Shoestring” is featured in Witches & Pagans Magazine.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

800×600

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-bidi-font-family:”Times New Roman”;}

1.
What made you want to become an author?
I
have always written, from the time I was a kid. For years I didn’t pursue it
actively, until I got the idea for my first Llewellyn nonfiction book, which
simply INSISTED on being written. After I’d sold that book, I could no longer
use the “I’ve never finished anything” excuse, and went on to write novels as
well.
2.
How do you come up with the characters in your books?
Mostly
they come to me. I have very little to do with it—lol.
3.
Are your books based on real life experiences?
My
nonfiction books on Witchcraft certainly are. As for the rest, my first novel
had a lot of “me” in it, and there are always miscellaneous bits and pieces of
things that have happened to me in real life, but since they tend to be urban
fantasy and paranormal romance, most of the events of the books are too “way
out” to have happened. (Or at least one hopes that’s true!)
4.
Which of your books did you enjoy writing the most?
That’s
a tough question, since they are all different and all enjoyable in their own
way. But I’d have to say, probably KING ME, which was my second (and still
unpublished) book. It was a funny paranormal romance, and I like writing humor.
5.
You are also a jewelry maker. What is your favorite gem to use?
Stop
making me pick favorites! I really like carnelian, but also labradorite, and
black onyx. It really depends on my mood at the time.
6.
Do you have a favorite piece of jewelry that you’ve made?
Years
ago, I designed a black onyx and amber necklace for the members of my coven,
Blue Moon Circle. I really like that one.
7.
You are also a Wiccan high priestess. How long have you followed the Wiccan
religion?
About
fifteen years.
8.
While following the Wiccan religion did you ever expect to be a Wiccan high
priestess?
Nope.
But apparently the gods had other plans for me… They’re tricky that way.
9.
You hold workshops for others. Was this your idea or did someone else help
bring it to light?
I’ve
been giving online writing classes for years on other people’s sites (usually
writers loops run by various RWA chapters) and in-person Witchcraft workshops
when I attended Pagan festivals or conventions. But recently, so many people
asked me to start giving Witchcraft classes online, I began to seriously
consider it. When an author & Pagan friend, Heather Long, offered to help
set up and run a workshop loop for me, I finally said yes. I couldn’t do it
without her.
10.
Which of your workshops do you suggest for upcoming witchcraft authors?
That
depends—do you mean fiction authors who use witches as characters? Is so, I am
giving a great class on the Savvy Authors loop in April, called “Beyond Fangs:
Creating New & Interesting Paranormal Characters.” Any of the classes I
give on my own loop are good sources of information, too.
11.
What is your favorite holiday to celebrate?
Again
with the favorites! I like a number of different ones for different reasons,
but if I have to pick just one, I’d say Samhain (what most folks know as
Halloween). It is very “witchy” and celebrates both the light and the dark
aspects of life.
12.
Where do you go when you need to relax?
I
love the beach, but sadly, I don’t live anywhere near one. If the weather is
nice, I often go out to my garden and dig around in the dirt. Otherwise, I head
to the couch with a good book!
13.
If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?
I’m
not much of a traveler, but I’d love to see Greece some day. And maybe Ireland.
Also Venice… And I hear Provence is nice!
14.
If you could spend the day with someone who would it be? (Dead or alive.)
My
critique partner, Lisa DiDio. She’s a blast, and we love being together, but
she lives on the other side of the country from me, so we rarely get to be
together.
15.
What advice would you give to others that are interested in being authors in
the witchcraft and paranormal genre?
Research,
research, research. I read a lot of books in this genre, and it makes me cranky
when I come across a place where someone clearly didn’t bother to find out how
things really work. Also, read as many books as you can in the genre—both to
find out what has already been done, so you don’t end up repeating a storyline
that has been done to death, and so that you can see how the best writers are
doing it.

 

Leave a Reply

