Interview with Author Shay Fabbro

Find out more about Shay at her website (here)
Shay Fabbro was born in Longmont, CO and moved to the town of Grand
Junction, CO in the early 1980′s. She earned her Bachelor’s degree in
Biology from Mesa State College before earning her doctorate degree in
Human Medical Genetics from the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical
Campus in Aurora, CO.
Dr. Fabbro currently lives in Grand Junction with her husband, Rich,
and their two cats. When not writing novels, she teaches biology classes
at Mesa State College. She is the author of the Portals of Destiny
series and the Adventures of Alexis Davenport series.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

800×600

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-bidi-font-family:”Times New Roman”;}

 

1.      
What made you want to become and Author?
I had this dream that just wouldn’t
leave me alone. After thinking about it for a couple weeks, I finally talked to
a friend of mine and she told me to start writing this stuff down. And the rest
is history 😀
2.
 How do you come up with the characters in your books?
They just sort of start talking in
my head, taking on their own personality. I like being able to design alien
creatures rather than just writing about humans.
3.      
Are your books based on real life experiences?
My scifi/fantasy books, not so much.
But the YA/fantasy/time gravel series is pulled from a lot of my experiences in
high school (although a little more dramatic).
4.
Which of your books did you enjoy writing the most?
As of now, the second book of the
Portals of Destiny series, Shattered Destiny. It’s been fun throwing in some
major twists and making readers wonder how the heck I’m going to get my Chosen
out of the mess I wrote them into 😉
5.     
What do you like most about Colorado?
The mountains! My soul resides
there. I always put some elements of the mountains in my books, whether it be
the ponderosa and aspen forests of the high country or the juniper and cedar of
the desert. The town I live in (Grand Junction) is such an amazing place to
live. We have easy access to many kinds of mountains and environments right in
our back yard!
6.
You have degrees in biology and medical genetics, what was your favorite
class while getting these?
My favorite class of all time was
the Embryology class I took as an undergrad. Learning the process by which a
single cell divides and becomes an entire person is miraculous and humbling!
7.      
Do you enjoy teaching or writing more?
Oh gosh! LOL I enjoy both, which
makes me pretty lucky! I am thankful I have a day job that I love so much. It’s
a pretty amazing experience to be able to see a student’s eyes light up when
they learn something new, or when they finally grasp a difficult concept.
8.     
Do you read a lot?
Unfortunately, I don’t read as much
as I used to before I started writing
J Between preparing lecture notes,
grading exams, writing, blogging, marketing, promoting, etc I just don’t have a
lot of time to read. Plus I have to have time for church, volunteer work,
family, and friends!
9.
 What is your favorite type of book to read and your favorite authors?
My favorite books are epic fantasy.
And my favorite authors would have to be Tolkein, George RR Martin, and Jim
Butcher.
10.    Being a
teacher when do you find time to write novels?
I usually write on the day I don’t
teach or before I head into the office. Being a college professor is awesome,
actually. We don’t teach from 9-5 every day of the week so that leaves some
time for writing.
11.    What was your
favorite scene you’ve written?
Oh gosh, this one is a tough one!
There are several that come to mind . One I can’t actually be specific about
since it would spoil things for people who haven’t read the books yet so I’ll
just say the ending scene in Shattered Destiny (book 2) 😉 The one scene that
is pretty memorable AND hilarious is the opening scene from Shattered Destiny
where the Volgons come through the portal and visit Astra. The portals change a
beings physical form so that the normal reptilian Volgons show up on Astra as
humans. The Volgons don’t have certain…ahhh….*coughs delicately*…organs and the response of the female
Volgons to having breasts is pretty hysterical!
12.    Where do you
go when you need to relax?
When the weather permits, I go to
the mountains but in the winter, I like to watch movies and read when I have
the chance!
13.    If you could
travel anywhere in the world where would you go?
I would have to say Scotland. I
don’t know why, but I have always had a fascination with the country and would
love to visit the castles and cities there.
14.    If you could
spend the day with someone who would it be? (Dead or Alive)
Jesus of Nazareth J
15.   What advice do you
have to others that are interested in being Authors in the
scifi/fantasy genre?
To make sure to keep a good story
bible! You need to keep track of everything about your books: character
names, what they look like, clothing they wear, personalities, plot lines,
maps, research you’ve done, etc.
Leave a Reply

