Interview with Author India Drummond

Check out more about India on her website (here)

 Buy her books on amazon (here)

India knew from age nine that
writing would be her passion. Since then she’s discovered many more, but none
quite so fulfilling as creating a world, a character, or a moment and watching
them evolve into something complex and compelling. She has lived in three
countries and four American states, is a dual British and American citizen, and
currently lives at the base of the Scottish Highlands in a village so small, its
main attraction is a red phone box. In other words: paradise.

What India says about herself:
I’m a lot of other things, but mostly I’m a writer. I like books with
fast action, scary killers, fantasy worlds, and a dash of romance. Maybe
even all four at once.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

1.What made you want to be an Author?
 
I’ve been telling stories for as long as I can remember. When I was about
6, I wrote scripts and put on puppet shows for my family. When I was about 8 or
9, I graduated to short stories and didn’t stop until I began my first novel at
19. I can’t imagine *not* writing.
 
2. How did you come up with the characters for your books?
 
I’m very often inspired by people around me. Not friends or family, but the
stranger on the street or the extra on a TV show that doesn’t have any lines. I
see people and I wonder what their story is, how they got there, who they love,
what secrets they have.
 
3. Are any of your characters based off people you know?
 
Not intentionally, no, although sometimes a funny line from a conversation
with a friend will creep into the mix.
 
4. You’ve moved a few times, which place did you enjoy living the
most?
 
I think every place I’ve lived has made some kind of impression on me. When
I lived in Japan, I was only 19, and it gave me an appreciation for how
different other people’s cultures and experiences are in other places. When I
lived in California, I realised how much I love the sea. Each new city has
shaped me somehow, but Scotland will always be the home of my heart.
 
5. You moved to UK in 2001 do you miss anything about living in the United
States?
 
I miss certain people that I rarely see anymore, but in general, no. In the
beginning, it was a big adjustment. Everything was just different enough to be
discombobulating, and it took me a couple of years before I could understand the
varying accents enough to feel comfortable on the phone. But despite those
things, no place feels as good to me as being here.
 
6. Which of your books did you have the most fun writing?
 
Books are a bit like friends…every one has qualities I enjoy, and each is
different. I’d say with every one of my books, I had moments of inspiration that
got me through long days of hard work.
 
7. Which of your books was the hardest for you to write?
 
Definitely the first. I didn’t know what I was doing, didn’t have a roadmap
or a plan. I wrote and wrote and then rewrote and rewrote. That book won’t ever
see the light of day as far as being published, but there are elements of it
that I hope to incorporate into future stories.
 
8. What is your favorite treat to reward yourself for a published
book?
Hmm, interesting question. I don’t really do anything to reward myself.
Writing is such a wonderful process, despite being hard work, that I never felt
the need to buy myself anything or do anything to celebrate. The real reward
comes in the positive reviews and the letters from readers.
 
9. Do you read a lot?
 
Normally, yes. It’s something I not only enjoy, but I think is critical for
every writer to do. Being exposed to new ideas, techniques, and genre helps us
keep fresh. I don’t read while I’m writing a draft though, because I don’t want
another author’s style to creep into my own.
 
10. What are your favorite types of books to read and your favorite
authors?
 
Besides what I write (urban fantasy and epic fantasy), I also enjoy
thrillers, crime/detective stories, sci-fi, spy novels, some romance/chick lit.
The only type of book I rarely pick up are historicals and westerns, but I’ve
even found a few of them that I enjoyed. I like to read pieces outside my normal
reading range sometimes to try something new.
 
11. Where is your favorite place to write at?
 
I take my laptop into my living room. I sit by a large window with a cup of
coffee and type away. But honestly, I could write just about anywhere. Once I
get into the story, it wouldn’t matter where I was or what was going on around
me.
 
12. What hobbies do you have?
 
I sketch and paint and also do digital art for fun. I love learning new
things. I try to make sure I spend time doing things that are completely
unrelated to writing and publishing regularly, just to keep my mind
refreshed.
 
13. If you could spend the day with someone who would it be? (Dead or
Alive)
 
There are some friends I’d love to be able to spend a day with… a day with
no demands, schedules, restrictions or mobile phones! But if I had to pick
someone outside my normal circle, my secret wish would be to spend a day with
one (or more) of my characters. They seem so real to me, and it would be amazing
to get the full ‘holodeck’ experience with them, to talk and interact.
 
14. If you could travel anywhere in the world you haven’t been where would
you go?
 
Oh there are a lot of places I’d love to go… Venice, Athens, Prague,
Geneva, Madrid, Cairo, Rome. I enjoy the scenic and quiet places as much as the
larger cities (sometimes more!), so I’d like to be able to see the outskirts and
the countryside of quite a few countries too. I would also like to revisit some
cities I have been, like Amsterdam, Monaco, Florence and Naples.
 
15. What advice would you give to new and upcoming authors?
 
Write. Write. Write. Don’t write one book and then spend all your time
polishing, rewriting, perfecting. Sure, edit and learn from it, but after a few
months, move on to something new. This is something I wish I’d known to do. I
never understood that you can’t learn everything you need to from one book, that
growth comes from working on a variety of different projects. Also, don’t expect
to publish your first book. I know it’s heartbreaking to consider your first
book a ‘practice’ book after all the work that goes into it, but truthfully,
most first books just aren’t good enough to be a commercial success. Having
talent is great, but it also takes time and experience to become a good author,
and you can’t get all the experience you’ll need on one book.

Leave a Reply

