Book Review: Was Once A Hero

Book Review by Toni G. Sinns
Book Title: Was
Once A Hero
Author: Edward
McKeown
About the Author: I’ve
enjoyed a life-long love affair with science fiction. I write believable people
in extraordinary situations, balancing romance, humor, adventure and reasonable
extrapolations of science in stories that I believe people will want to return
to. Whether it’s in the short stories of my “Lair of the Lesbian Love
Goddess series” or in the Fenaday and Rainhell novels, classic
“Planet” tales of a crews of unlikely companions facing unknown
dangers, my intent is to give the reader the sort of page turning, involving
adventure that Andre Norton wrote and leaven it with the emotional complexity
and ambiguity that CJ Cherryh brings to the field.

While the experiences of the SF Universe are out of reach of those unable to
pay for a rocket ride, I use my own background to try for an underlying verity
in my characters. I’ve parachuted, flown in gliders, hang gliders and strapped
to the floor of military helicopters. I’ve been rated as an expert shot and
carry a black belt in the martial arts. I’ve been paralyzed by fear, exhilarated
by love and walked into fights, both literal and metaphorical, that I knew I
could not win. I have the great good fortune to be married to the talented
artist Schelly Keefer http://www.redskygallery.com/html/home.asp and her
products are available at http://www.zazzle.com/schelly

Book Description:
Reluctant privateer Robert Fenaday searches the stars for his lost love, Lisa,
a naval intelligence officer whose ship disappeared near the end of the
Conchirri War . He’s joined by the genetically engineered assassin, Shasti Rainhell,
whose cold perfection masks her dark past. Both are blackmailed by government
spymaster, Mandela, into a suicidal mission to the doomed planet Enshar.
Leading a team of scientists and soldiers, they must unravel the mystery of
that planet’s death before an ancient force reaches out to claim their lives.
My
Review
Story Line: A
dead wife, no job, a government that knows all your illegal actions and can
take you down, a vanishing race, and a mission that very well could be your
death. In a pleasantly entertaining and decently quick read you get to follow
the way Robert Fenaday went from being on top to being almost blackmailed into
giving away possibly his life for a mission.
Characters: Lisa,
Robert, Telisan, Shasti, and a whole ships worth of crew.
My Favorite Part:
When Robert and Mandela have a conversation about wanting Robert to go on this
suicide mission as it would appear. Mandela tells Robert of all the illegal
actions that the government knows about but has not taken him to court on yet.
I found the whole conversation hilarious.
Overall Rating: 4
out of 5 stars. There were some parts in there that seemed to drag on for me which
was a bit disheartened for a short story. HOWEVER, minus those few parts I
really enjoyed this read. I don’t want to go too much into it because I don’t
do spoilers. However I do recommend if you want a very enjoyable space
adventure to sink into then you should pick up this book. Follow Robert as he
watches his wife leave on a mission to find out 11 months later she will not be
returning. Selling all he has to get a ship to search for her leaving him with
no money, no work, and no wife until a request to go on a mission that may be
his last.
Grab your copy today!
Leave a Reply

