I, Monster guest post by Hunter Shea

I, Monster 

By Hunter Shea 

“It’s just the beast under your bed. In your closet, in your head.” 
That’s always been one of my favorite Metallica lines. It stresses that the monsters lurking in your mind are just as sinister as the phantom creatures lying in wait in your darkened room. 
I’m a monster junkie. I admit it. I’ve been addicted to monsters for almost 40 years now. I hope to go 40 more. When I was a kid, I was fascinated by the Loch Ness Monster, that Jurassic leftover swimming the Scottish depths. Forget whales, Nessie was queen. Then came Bigfoot and the famous Patterson film showing the missing link striding through a dry riverbed. From there, the floodgates opened wide. 
In TV shows, movies and comics, I found monsters everywhere. From Satan’s baby to swamp creatures, zombies to hockey-masked killing machines, I was in my glory. I soaked up the Universal monsters like a dry sponge; Dracula, Frankenstein, The Wolf Man, The Mummy, The Invisible Man, all crammed their way into my brain, carving out a special home for themselves. 
 I see monsters wherever I go, because they are always snarling and shambling in my head. As a horror writer, I get to let them run free for a bit every now and then, but they always come back home when they’re done terrorizing the town. In the past year alone, I’ve unleashed the ghosts (Forest of Shadows), demons (Evil Eternal) and monsters (Swamp Monster Massacre) from my mind’s cages. I’ve scared a few folks in the process. 
 Maybe, just maybe, I’ve become the monster. 
Time to howl. 

 

Author Bio

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-bidi-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}

I’m the product of a childhood weened on The Night Stalker,
The Twilight Zone and In Search Of. Luckily, I’ve managed to make a love of all
things ghostly and beastly into a career. It’s nice not to have to write for
free anymore.
I’ve published several books and a slew of horror short
stories over the years in magazines like Dark Moon Digest, Morpheus Tales, The
Harrow, Tabard Inn, Deadline  &
Ethereal Tales, just to name a few. My latest novel, Forest of Shadows, is
available through  Samhain
Publishing  and their new horror line.
Evil Eternal, what’s been desribed as Gran Guignol at its best and bloodiest,
will be available in May 2012.
I’m also proud to be be one half of the Monster Men podcast,
where my partner in crime Jack Campisi and I talk about all things horror with
our own, sarcastic twist. All horror and no humor makes Hunter and Jack dull
boys.
Feel free to contact me any time at huntershea1@gmail.com.
Writing is lonely work.
Hunter Shea’s Website
Click Here
Leave a Reply

