Presenting Nicole Zoltack

nicole

Nicole Zoltack loves to write in many genres, especially romance, whether fantasy, paranormal, time travels or regency. She’s also a freelance editor and a ghostwriter. Her works include the Magic Incarnate series, the Heroes of Falledge trilogy, and the Kingdom of Arnhem trilogy.
When she’s not writing about knights, superheroes, or witches, she enjoys spending time with her loving husband, three energetic young boys, and precious baby girl. She enjoys riding horses (pretending they’re unicorns, of course!) and going to the PA Renaissance Faire, dressed in garb. She’ll also read anything she can get her hands on. Her current favorite TV shows are The Walking Dead and Gotham.

 

 

LINKS TO CONNECT WITH!!!

 

Interview time!

  1. What advice would you give someone who is wanting to step foot into the writing world?
    Read and write. Read in your genre. Read outside of your genre. Realize what you like and what you don’t like in their writing styles.
    And write. Write. Try writing from an outline. Try writing without one. Learn your own writing style and do what works for you.
  1. What is the hardest part about being an author?
    The marketing. Finding new readers. I adore the writing process and editing and polishing it, but marketing is a struggle yet.
  1. What has been the happiest moment so far for you in your journey through being an author?
    Finding the courage to self publish a book.  The freedom and the belief in myself and my work has driven me to become a better writer.
  1. What is a question you’ve always wanted to be asked during an interview but never have been?
    What genre have you not written but want to? And the answer is mystery. I want to do a detective series.
  2. What can we expect from you in the next year?
    A ton of more books in my Once Upon a Darkened Night series. All twisted fairy tales! Plus the launch of Bethlehem in Bedlam, my first UF series.
  1. If you were to take a vacation anywhere in the world (Family can come too) where would you go?
    Europe! Maybe Ireland. Or England. Or Italy or Greece or Germany or…
  1. What are 3 things we can always find in your grocery basket?
    Nuts, pasta, and bread.
  2. Are any of the characters in your book based on real people you know?
    Most of the heroes are based on my husband… and not always the good traits. LOL
  3. What is something that happened during or right after your publishing journey that nobody knows about?
    My goals have changed. Before, I wanted an agent and a huge deal with a major publishing house. Now, I want to grow my readership and make more money while still writing the stories I want to write.
  4. What is your morning routine like?
    Once I’ve gotten the boys off to school, I check my email and then go on FB for a little bit and then get started on my writing.
  5. When did you realize you wanted to be a writer?
    Before I could even write, I was already coming up with stories in my head. I’ve always wanted to be a writer.
  6. How long does it take you to write a book?
    Depends on the story length. Right now, I can write a 30K in 6 days. Usually, a month or two for a longer novel.
  7. What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?
    I write whenever I can. I write from outlines so when I do have time to write, I’m writing and not trying to figure out what comes next, so I can better use my time.
  8. Are you a morning, afternoon, night writer?
    All day and night writer. Whenever I have time! I have four kids, two in school, so whenever I have a spare moment, I’m writing.
  9. What would you say is one of your more interesting writing quirks?
    I can write with music or with silence. I can write anywhere. With having 4 kids, my house is never quiet unless they’re sleeping. Now, if I do listen to music, it has to be instrumental, or else I’ll sing along and lyrics will make their way into the story. LOL
  10. Where do you get your information or ideas for your books?
    I get ideas from everywhere—dreams, TV shows, movies, people watching, playing the What if game…
  11. When did you write your first book (doesn’t have to be published) and how old were you?
    I started writing my first novel in the sixth grade, literally during class. It took me a decade to finish it because I went huge stretches without working on it.
  12. What do you like to do when you’re not writing?
    Watch TV (Gotham, GOT, Stranger Things, The Walking Dead) and movies.
  13. What does your family think about your writing?
    They’re supportive! I’m so lucky. I just wish that hubby would read my books. Working on it.
  14. What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?
    That people really do want to read and share in the worlds I’ve created in my mind.
  15. As a child what did you want to be growing up?
    A writer. And an actress, model, paleontologist, president…
  16. Where are you from?
    Lehigh Valley, PA
  17. What is your favorite thing about where you live now?
    We’re so close to three parks that I can walk to them with the kids and let them have fun and stay sane. LOL I’m very family oriented.
  18. What was something you loved doing during the summer growing up?
    I actually preferred school to summer. I hated the summer. What did I love? Playing RPGs with my siblings.
  19. What is something you love doing during the winter now?
    Not the snow. LOL I don’t care for winter, actually. I prefer spring.
  20. What inspired you to write your first book?
    My first book is about a magical pen. I’m not sure what inspired it, since I started it back in the sixth grade and I don’t remember, but I would love to have a magical pen.
  21. Do you think you have a specific writing style? What is it?
    My writing is rather smooth. It’s easy to read.
  22. Is there a message in your novels that you want readers to grasp?
    Most of the time, I write about love and hope. Even if there’s darkness, light will triumph in the end.
  23. Are experiences and events in your book based on your own life?
    For the most part, no, although some of the emotions do come from my own experiences, so I can make it more real.
  24. Are there any authors you tend to go to as mentors and support or just advice?
    Any of the others in Phoenix Prime with me (a Ph.D writing course) and many others.
  25. Name at least one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.
    Kat Higgs, my PA. She’s amazing and wonderful, and I love her.
  26. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your books?
    I think all authors would say yes to this and I’m no exception.
  27. Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?
    Setting and descriptions. I tend to skim them while reading, so I tend to skimp on them in writing. I’m trying to do better though!
  28. Give us three “Good to Know” facts about you. Be creative. Tell us about your first job, the inspiration for your writing, any fun details that would enliven your page.
    – I want to learn how to fence.
    – I used to take horseback riding lessons and want to learn how to jump one day.
    – I short. Not quite 5 feet tell.
  1. How do you deal with Writers block?
    Since I’ve started to write outlines, I don’t have writer’s block. Plus, I’m usually writing two or three stories at a time, so I just bounce to the others.
  2. What is your favorite meal to cook? Or have cooked by someone else. Can we have the recipe?
    Smoked Sausage Casserole. Hubby makes it. It’s smoked sausage, potatoes, bacon, onions, and butter. So good. Really heavy, though.
  3. What is your favorite marketing tool when spreading the word about your work?
    My newsletter. I love reaching out to my readers.
  4. If you weren’t an author what do you think you would be doing?
    I went to college to be a forensic scientist, so I would probably be working in a lab.
  5. Can we have an excerpt from one of your favorite books you’ve written?

 

From Of Cinder and Madness

A wicked, horrid girl. I’ve tried to help her. The sun knows I’ve tried. I am at my wit’s end, and if I cannot change her for the better, than I can only shield her away from the world… and from my family and myself.

My hand slips into the pocket of my long, satin dress. The coldness of the key sends a shiver down my spine, and I gasp slightly.

That sound is enough. Her birds react to my presence, and she turns to face me.

Our eyes lock. Her blue orbs look nothing like her father’s, so hard, so unfeeling, so cold.

The air rushes out of me, as the world seems to stop. She’s waiting for me to speak, to yell at her, to punish her. Yes, she must realize that what she has done is horrible, despicable. She must realize that the punishment is her doing, her fault. But I can’t help hesitating. Am I certain there is nothing else I can do, if there is anything I should have done, if the blame does not rest on her shoulders but mine?

My indecision creates a bubble. The birds hover in midair, awaiting their dark princess’s command. Yes, she is not dark in appearance, fair on all accounts, but her heart is dark, far darker than anyone realizes, and if I have to venture a guess, far darker than even I suspect.

No. I must be firm in my resolve. Now is not the time to allow grief and despair to color my actions. She must be held accountable for her own actions. It is not my hand forcing this upon her, but her own hand.

Shoving aside my doubt, cloaking myself in my fear, I remove the key from my pocket.

At once, her eyes flash with understanding. A flicker of an emotion—fear of her own, or maybe acceptance—but then her birds swoop toward me as one massive swarm, and I barely have time to close the door and lock it before they slam against it, thud, thud, thud.

A minute passes and then another, and I lean against the heavy locked door with my eyes closed. It’s done. She’s barred. She’s too far up. Her birds never leave her side for long, and only one at a time at that. We’ll be fine now. We’ll be safe.

I hope.

I pray.

I fear.

 

 

 

Check out more from Nicole!

 

cover

 

Magic Incarnate series

 

Heroes of Falledge trilogy

 

Kingdom of Arnhem trilogy

 

 

Leave a Reply

